Surgery Week 3

Well, it’s official.

I’m a white cloud.

If you don’t know what clouds are, basically in medicine there are black clouds, white cloud and everyone in between. A black cloud follows the idea of; “if it rains, it pours”. Basically everything that can go wrong will. You’ll see the craziest things comes in. Outcomes aren’t always favorable. It’s tough.

A white cloud is just the opposite. It’s basically clear skies all day, everyone that comes in a simple problem with a simple solution and everyone goes home without complications.

I was on call. All. Week.

Literally nothing happened. My preceptor was so confused. In all the years of his practice that had never happened before. Ever.

It’s not that I want to see bad things happen to people. I’m not particularly fond of the side of medicine that deals with things like death. BUT I wanted to see SOMETHING. This could the only time I do this, who knows. I want to see a lot. But my particular status is in the way of that, I think. I would like not have such silly superstitions but when the signs are there, they’re there.

Aside from that, I’ve been getting to help more and more, being more involved in actively doing things and actually knowing what’s going on. Plus, if I have any questions my preceptor is really amazing about lecturing  on whatever topic, because let’s face it. I’m not the brightest star in the sky even though I do try hard haha.

Leave a Reply

